New Year’s resolution – a book a month?

by Grace

I’m thinking about reading some of these as a new year’s resolution, maybe tackling one book each month.

20 Classic Novels You Can Read in One Sitting

Some of these books I can either get free or for less than a dollar on my Kindle.  Although most of them are under 200 pages, in the comments it was noted that a few of these are really not two-hour reads (Wuthering Heights?).  As a slow reader, I should take that into account.

Here’s the list.

  1. A Christmas Carol, by Charles Dickens
  2. Adventures of Huckleberry Finn, by Mark Twain
  3. Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland, by Lewis Carroll
  4. Animal Farm, by George Orwell
  5. Around the World in Eighty Days, by Jules Verne
  6. Brave New World, by Aldous Huxley
  7. Candide, by Voltaire
  8. Cannery Row, by John Steinbeck
  9. The Catcher in the Rye, by J. D. Salinger
  10. Ethan Frome, by Edith Wharton
  11. Fahrenheit 451, by Ray Bradbury
  12. Frankenstein, by Mary Shelley
  13. The Great Gatsby, by F. Scott Fitzgerald
  14. Heart of Darkness, Joseph Conrad
  15. Night, by Elie Wiesel
  16. The Picture of Dorian Gray, by Oscar Wilde
  17. The Red Badge of Courage, by Stephen Crane
  18. The Sorrows of Young Werther, by Johann Wolfgang von Goethe
  19. The Stranger, by Albert Camus
  20. Wuthering Heights, by Emily Bronte

Some more ideas are in the comments, including one of my favorites, The Old Man and the Sea by Hemingway.  It would be interesting to re-read some books that I remember fondly from my youth and see if they’ve stood the test of time.

Two (or three) hours a month – how hard can that be?  I can think of it as my own personal battle against the end of deep and focused reading.

Tags:

2 Comments to “New Year’s resolution – a book a month?”

  1. I believe all students at our local high school read Night at some point as part of their human rights/Holocaust curriculum theme. I have not read it either, but I may have a copy hanging around the house.

    Like

  2. Yes, my son read Diary of Anne Frank in high school. However, I’m not sure if it’s assigned to all students as Night seems to be.

    Like

